Leadership 2019-07-18T19:58:38-04:00


Since our founding in 1984, we’ve been blessed with determined and courageous leaders of vision who care deeply about finding solutions for the next generation and beyond.

We continue to be fortunate in our leadership, who work confidently and expertly to advance our mission. The Foundation of Hope Board of Trustees and staff are responsibly stewarding resources and ensuring our organization’s vigorous progress towards its ambitious goals in a bright future.

Board of Trustees

Comprised of UNC-Chapel Hill faculty, members of the Triangle community, and beyond, the Board of Trustees champions and supports The Foundation of Hope’s vision to eliminate suffering from mental illness. It is with deep gratitude that we thank these exceptional volunteers.

Sarah Wesley Fox

Smith Anderson
Raleigh, NC

Michael Zarzar, M.D.

UNC Hospitals at Wakebrook
Raleigh, NC

Carolyn Eskridge

Raleigh, NC

Elizabeth C. Skvarla

Pinehurst, NC

Mary Cantando
The Women’s Advantage
Raleigh, NC

Taylor B. Cash, Jr.
Taylor’s Wine Shop
Raleigh, NC

Michael Condrey
Northwestern Mutual
Raleigh, NC

Sarah Cope
MoJo Performance Partners
Raleigh, NC

Asa Cordle, M.D.
Raleigh Psychiatric Associates
Raleigh, NC

Tanya Doebler
Wake Forest, NC

John Gilmore, M.D.
UNC Department of Psychiatry
Chapel Hill, NC

Carla Hollis
Triangle Springs
Raleigh, NC

Douglas Kahn
Raleigh, NC

Lyn Maness
Raleigh, NC

Amber Moshakos
LM Restaurants
Raleigh, NC

Jack Naftel, M.D.
UNC School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC

John Perruccio
Valrico, FL

Chad Price
Mako Medical Laboratories
Raleigh, NC

David Rubinow, M.D.
UNC Department of Psychiatry
Chapel Hill, NC

Brad Sears
Wells Fargo
Raleigh, NC

Jeff Stocks
The Nautical Group
Carrboro, NC

Steve Thanhauser
The Angus Barn
Raleigh, NC

Marion Winston
Raleigh, NC

Scientific Advisory Committee

We are very pleased to present the Foundation of Hope’s Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC). With their expert guidance, we invite scientists from the Department of Psychiatry at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to apply annually for research grants. The SAC then helps us direct funding to the most promising research proposals, and later, ensure quality of research throughout each research team’s grant period.

Thanks to the SAC, the Foundation of Hope has funded 140 scientific research grants totaling over $6 million. These local research grants have attracted significant funding from the National Institute of Mental Health, reaching sums of over $155 million. The Foundation of Hope’s projects have positively impacted not only the families and communities of the mentally ill, but also mental health research throughout the United States and around the world.

Asa Cordle, M.D.
Raleigh Psychiatric Associates

Bradley N. Gaynes, M.D., MPH
Professor of Psychiatry, UNC-CH
Associate Chair of Research Training and Education
Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology

John H. Gilmore, M.D.
Thad and Alice Eure Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry
Vice Chair for Research and Scientific Affairs, UNC-CH
Director, Center for Excellence in Community Mental Health

David R. Rubinow, M.D.
Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry, UNC-CH

Michael N. Zarzar, M.D.
Director of UNC Wakebrook


Shelley Eure Belk
Executive Director

Jennifer Archambault
Administrative Assistant

Blair Smallman
Development Coordinator

Charlotte Moore
Communications Specialist

Mary Stevenson
Event Administrator